Posted in Photography

Sugar and Spice And Everything Nice

20160514_150740[2]

My husband and I were walking along the boardwalk in Beaufort and I saw these adorable bicycles.  The license tags are a little hard to see.  They say Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme, Sea Salt.

My title above “Sugar and Spice” came from a Nursery Rhyme called “What Are Little Boys Made Of?

What are little boys made of? 

Snakes and snails

And puppy-dogs’ tails

That’s what little boys are made of.

What are little girls made of?

Sugar and spice

And everything nice

That’s what little girls are made of.

Then I wondered are Spices and Herbs the same thing.  According to fooducate.com:

“The difference between the two is where they are obtained from a plant. Herbs come from the leafy and green part of the plant. Spices are parts of the plant other than the leafy bit such as the root, stem, bulb, bark or seeds. Examples of herbs include basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, parsley and mint.”

So, then maybe my title should be “Sugar and Herbs, and Everything Nice”

The license plates made me think of the times I have eaten these Herbs.  I love food.  Some people crochet or make quilts. I love to eat as a hobby or a recreational activity or just for the fun of it.  I remember being asked what was my favorite subject in school and I would always say lunch.

The last time I ate anything with Sea Salt was probably on potato chips.  I may have eaten Thyme or Sage in meals in restaurants but I don’t regularly use it at home. Parsley is usually on my plate as a decoration but I take it off.  My husband makes amazing spaghetti sauce where one of the ingredients is Parsley.  We have a Rosemary bush in the backyard and you can smell it before you get near it. My husband also makes a wonderful Rosemary Chicken. It doesn’t take much Rosemary to create a mouthful of intense flavors.

What are your memories of using any of the Herbs and Sea Salt above?

Author:

You can find me on Instagram at JadeSuttonArt

14 thoughts on “Sugar and Spice And Everything Nice

  1. Oh, herbs are wonderful. I have parsley, sage, rosemary, thyme, and many others growing in my herb garden, and I use snips of them every day in cooking. It makes such a huge difference in the flavor. Yesterday I made spaghetti and meatballs, so lots of our herbs went into the dish — I make it with fresh tomatoes, not a sauce. I always take time to personally thank each plant for contributing to our dinner. As for sea salt, I have Himalayan pink salt which I use in cooking. Yes, rosemary smells delightful! I love brushing my hands over it just for the fragrance. We have lavender, too, and lots of mint. I’m planning to gather up a few herbs to make a mint “sun tea” one day soon.

    Like

  2. I do not know much about herbs because cooking does not love me. But I enjoy them with my cousin’s cooking. She has a herb garden and cuts from there whenever she needs one. Sea salt was prescribed to me instead of using fish sauce with food. Now, my blood pressure is super controlled.

    Like

      1. I live in a compound with my mother’s side of the family. There are four houses with a big garden in the middle. My blood pressure is being helped by medications too Jade but I made it a decision to help through proper diet and self discipline.

        Like

Leave a Reply

