Posted in ATCs

My Heart Belongs to You

Heart

Getting snail mail is so wonderful especially when it isn’t a bill. Its like Christmas in your mailbox. You never know what is inside nor what goodies you will find in the envelopes.  Ever since I was little I have always loved having penpals all over the world. When I didnt have the money to travel, I could virtually travel via my penpals. Writing letters to penpals turned into making ATCs. I love making ATCs.  The picture above is an ATC made for a Hearts swap.  ATCs are Artist Trading Cards.  They are 2.5 inches X 3.5 inches in size which is the same size as a baseball card.  ATCs are traded like baseball cards.  You make art based on a theme like “Hearts” above and make an ATC about what that theme means to you.  On the back you write information about the swap so the receiver knows which swap the ATC is for.  The information to include on the back is the following: your name, the name of the swap, the date, title of your ATC, name of a group if you joined one, and a description of the ATC. Once you have signed up for a swap in Swap-bot, you are automatically assigned a partner on a certain date.  Then you need to make your ATC and send it out by the deadline.  Warning… once you start it is hard to stop!

A great place to start trading ATCs is Swap-bot.  You create a username and password in Swap-bot, then find a theme you are interested in and then swap.

Author:

You can find me on Instagram at JadeSuttonArt

14 thoughts on “My Heart Belongs to You

      1. After six swaps, I can get 3 free brushes, 9 cards gets me three tubes of professional grade paint…plus I actually won one of Grumbacher’s “mystery box giveaways” on their Facebook page, so definitely check them out.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I have my ATC ready to send for our swap. Any time? This is only my second time doing a swap, so if there’s something more I need to know, please tell me. I did check out Swap-Bot. Looks like it could be a lot of fun.

        Like

    1. Thank you. I had so much fun making this heart. I tore papers and glued them all down on card stock. Funny thing was I unintentionally tore all my papers the same size. After the card stock was dry I flipped it over and drew hearts and cut them out. I loved it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

